top of page

How to Read an Aura

What’s an Aura?

Can you think of a time when you’ve felt strange or uncomfortable in crowded places? Are there moments when you feel as if those around you are invading your personal space? These instances can lead to anxiety and panic attacks if you’re not aware of how and why you feel this way. It doesn’t have to be so scary, promise! Understanding this subject takes the overwhelming unknown out of it.

If you consider yourself to be an empath or, at the very least, sensitive to energy, you may find yourself picking up on subtle sensations when entering a room, ranging from physical to emotional. These feelings may be so super intense that you end up avoiding gatherings altogether!

You must remember that the human aura is made up of layers that let off a strong electromagnetic field. Our bodies and every living thing around us give off electrical energy, both positive and negative. Needless to say, it’s natural for us to be energetically affected just by being around another person.

The Layers

Similar to the chakras, there are seven layers to the aura. The first is the Etheric layer, which is typically the most easily seen. It’s a thin, gray, partially transparent field that outlines the general shape of the physical body. This layer corresponds with the root chakra. It typically gets out of whack whenever we feel fearful, lost, insecure, and unsafe.

The second layer is known as the Emotional Field, relating to the sacral chakra’s theme of feeling things out. Its color is dependent on the health level of the emotions. This is where we tap into our sensuality and consider the way we interact with the outside world. However, since we’re often taught to hide our true feelings, this layer is often muddled.

As you may have guessed, the third layer is connected to the third chakra, aka solar plexus. This is the mental layer where we trust our gut, especially when making important decisions. Like the chakra that it’s related to, it’s bright yellow in color. When one is very analytical or intellectual in nature, this layer shines brightly.

The fourth layer is where we begin to leave the confines of the physical, emotional, and mental, and tap into the astral realm. Have you ever heard of cord cutting or removal? This is the layer that energy healers work with during sessions of that type. Since this layer (and its related chakra) is smack dab in the middle, achieving harmony in love and connections is key. When this field is healthy, it typically gives off a rose hue.

Next, we reach the Etheric Template, not to be confused with the first etheric layer. Although the two are similar, this field encapsulates your entire physical presence on the earth plane. You can see it as your unique thumbprint in this existence, and its color varies as its imprint is similar to a photograph negative. The etheric template layer is connected to the throat chakra, which relates to our unique “voice” and expression.

The sixth layer of the aura is known as the Celestial Body. It’s where we begin to connect to the higher dimensions and embrace our innate spiritual nature. Since this layer is associated with the third eye chakra, trusting intuition is key here. The physical eye typically sees this energy field as white or shimmery in appearance.

Finally, we reach the seventh layer of the aura. This is known as the Causal Layer or Katheric Template. It’s typically gold in color (when healthy), and emanates a few feet outside of the physical body. It’s related to the crown chakra, which connects to the divine, source energy, and the higher self.

Dominant Colors

It’s important to note that the aura isn’t stagnant - it moves and changes based on the health of the physical and immaterial bodies. Below are the colors that energy healers and intuitives typically see when reading an aura.


If the aura is giving off a vibrant red color, the native is passionate and intense. Anger may be the prominent emotion here.


An orange-dominant aura points to a strong connection to the emotions. People with this color relate well with others.


A yellow aura is prominent in people who favor the use of the analytical, intellectual mind over feelings or intuition.


People with a green-dominant aura are typically very balanced. Compassion and unconditional love is the name of the game here.


Communication and speaking the truth is very important to those with blue-dominant auras. Authentic expression overall is the theme.


People with a prominent indigo color in their aura are often very skilled in the mystic arts and trust their intuition deeply.


Those with a primarily violet aura may find that people are drawn to them. As in the case of the indigo aura, these natives are very much in touch with the mystical and spiritual.

Pink: Similar to the green aura, a primarily pink aura involves love. This, however, is on a more romantic and personal level rather than universal.


Auras of this hue can indicate a deep connection with the spiritual and indicates an enlightened person. These natives often value communication with their higher selves.


If the aura is primarily brown in color, this can be an indication of a “muddy” or stagnant aura. At its best, this hue can also indicate personal growth.


People with gray as their primary auric color are often highly intuitive. However, it can also indicate depletion of energy and/or transition.


Black auras can often be seen around those who shield themselves from outside energies. There is typically a blockage of some kind in the physical body or in one or more of the auric layers.

How to See Auras

One of the best ways to start is to first feel the energy that’s emanating from your body. You can do this by rubbing your palms together vigorously and then holding them a few inches away from each other. As you “pulse” your hands toward and away from each other, you should be able to feel a magnetic field between them.

The aura can be seen with the naked eye (after some practice or concentration), with the eyes closed, or can simply be sensed. If you’re new to aura-reading, you can try it out by asking a willing participant to stand in front of a black or white background. View them with “soft eyes,” as if you’re trying to unravel the hidden contents of one of those “Seeing Eye” images that were popular in the late 90s.

Some people pick up on the first layer, the Etheric, by simply looking a few inches above the subject’s shoulder. This is a great way to practice! If you can’t tap into the more involved layers on your first try, that’s okay. The simple act of trying to view the aura helps enhance your viewing abilities.

Be sure to keep in mind that the aura tends to change as our physical bodies, thoughts, and emotions change, so if you read the same aura a few times and find that it’s shifted in color, know that this is completely natural.

If you are the type of person who feels overwhelmed in crowded spaces, make an effort to ground your energy, as it's clearly being affected by the various energy fields around you. An easy way to do this is to breathe evenly and imagine strong, deep red roots growing out of the soles of your feet, leaving you feeling sure in your skin.

Happy aura reading! Comment below with your experiences. :)

Love you to the moon,

P.S. Do you know what phase of the moon you were born under? Find out which of the 8 lunar gifts you hold!

P.P.S. Are you a Mystionary yet? Join Let's Get Mystical, my private group for mystics!

18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page